Ello Joins Legendary Band Dewa 19 as Vocalist: 'It's Like a Dream'

- 02 March 2022 13:52 WIB
Musical instruments (Unsplash/John Matychuk)
Musical instruments (Unsplash/John Matychuk)

JAKARTADAILY.ID - Marcello Tahitoe, also known as Ello, is reportedly joining the Dewa 19 pop and rock band. The singer announced this recently on his Instagram account, as per Bikin Rilis this Tuesday. He will act as a vocalist of the band, following the path of Ari Lasso and Once.

“I never thought that I would join @officialdewa19. From the beginning, I only listened to and idolized their works. But finally, I got this opportunity. It's like a dream," said Ello expressing his happiness on his Instagram account, @marcello_tahitoe, on Monday night, February 28, 2022.

The son of the musician Diana Nasution also emphasized that he was not in a position to replace the previous Dewa 19 vocalists.

"I know that I will never be able to replace the previous vocalists, but I will give my best for this band. And for my new family @baladewafamilia, I ask for your support to start a new journey of my life with you," he said.

No personnel from Dewa 19 has followed up on the news as of Monday night. However, signs of Ello's closeness to Dewa 19 began to appear clearly in a photo uploaded to the Instagram account of one of the founders of Dewa 19, Ahmad Dhani, @ahmaddhaniofficial, five days ago. In the photo, Ello and Dhani are sitting together on top of a tall building.

Without explaining why Ello is in the photo, @ahmaddhaniofficial only invites the public to meet up in commemoration of Dewa 19's Anniversary, saying, "See you in 30 Cities 30 30th Dewa19 Anniversary Song".

Dewa 19 is known as a music group formed in 1986 in Surabaya. This group has experienced several personnel changes. Its latest personnel formation was Ahmad Dhani, Andra Junaidi, Once Mekel, Yuke Sampurna, and Agung Yudha.

On Dewa 19's official website, it is stated that no less than eleven albums have been released by Dhani with Dewa, namely 'Dewa 19' (1992), 'Format Masa Depan' (1994), 'Terbaik Terbaik' (1995), 'Pandawa Lima' (1997), 'The Best Of Dewa 19' (1999), 'Bintang Lima' (2000), 'Cintailah Cinta' (2002), 'Atas Nama Cinta I & II' (2004), 'Laskar Cinta' (2004), 'Republik Cinta' (2006), dan 'Kerajaan Cinta' (2007).

Even though it has changed personnel several times, Dewa 19 still exists in the Indonesian music scene. Some of Dewa 19's legendary songs are Pupus and Kangen Dewa 19.

Follow us on Google News.

Editor: Mukhtar Wijaya

Source: Bikin Rilis


Related Article

Latest News