G20 Indonesia Begins, Attended by 38 Delegates

- 09 December 2021 21:14 WIB
The series of agendas for G20 in which Indonesia becomes the Presidency begins. This agenda attended by 38 delegates, include 19 members.
The series of agendas for G20 in which Indonesia becomes the Presidency begins. This agenda attended by 38 delegates, include 19 members.

JAKARTADAILY.ID - The series of agendas for the group of 20 countries or the G20 in which Indonesia becomes the Presidency (chairship) begins. The first meeting will be held on December 7, 2021. This inaugural meeting will continue until today, Wednesday (December 8, 2021). This is part of the 150 meetings that are expected to be held during Indonesia's tenure as the G20 Presidency. The first step to start #G20Indonesia has been running.

This was announced by the Instagram account of the G20 Indonesia Presidency (@indonesia.g20) which we quoted on Wednesday (December 8, 2021). It was stated that the focus of this meeting discussed the mechanism of future work and the agenda for the next 1 year.

#G20Indonesia is expected to bring a breakthrough in economic recovery that is inclusive, resilient, and sustainable. For the first time in history, the G20 invited small island countries from the Pacific and the Caribbean, as well as other developing countries from Africa, ASEAN and Latin America.

Also Read: Johnny G. Plate Inaugurates the g20.org Portal

“The G20 presidency is an opportunity for Indonesia to show Indonesia's leadership in the global arena, in order to answer various international challenges. Of course, the national interest is also the concern of the Government of Indonesia, namely realizing an inclusive, resilient, and sustainable economic recovery," said Indonesia Coordinating Minister for the Economy Airlangga Hartarto, in keynote remarks at the 1st Sherpa Meeting G20 Indonesia, in Jakarta, Tuesday (7/12). ). Also present on the occasion was the Indonesian Minister of Foreign Affairs Retno Marsudi.

Indonesia is the country holding the 3rd G20 Presidency which was held during the Covid-19 pandemic. Thus, the G20 is expected to bring breakthroughs in global collaboration to achieve an inclusive, resilient and sustainable economic recovery.

The First Sherpa Meeting was held in a hybrid manner by adhering to strict Health protocols. This agenda was attended by 38 delegates consisting of 19 G20 member countries, 9 invited guest countries, and 10 international organizations. A total of 23 delegates attended in person, the rest joined virtually.

Also Read: Hyundai Chosen as the Official G20 Vehicle in Indonesia

On the first day, December 7, 2021, a meeting was held to discuss the Overview of the Financial Track, Overview of the State of the Global Economy, and Overview of the State of the Global Health Situation. The meeting was divided into 3 sessions, namely Session I discussing Health and Development; Session II on Education, Employment, and the Digital Economy; Session III discussed Trade, Investment, Industry, and Agriculture.

Meanwhile, on the second day, December 8, 2021, there will be two follow-up sessions, namely Session IV discussing Climate, Energy, and Anti-Corruption; then Session V on Tourism and Women's Empowerment. The second day of the meeting also discussed Sherpa's Sofa Talk (Special Sherpa G20).

As is known, Indonesia was elected as the G20 Presidency from December 1, 2021 until the next year. Discussion of issues in the G20 will be divided into two tracks, namely the Financial Track and the Sherpa Track. The Financial Track specifically addresses financial issues.

The Sherpa is taken from the term Guide in Nepal. The link with the G20 is to illustrate how the G20 Sherpas paved the way to the Summit. As the G20 Presidency, Indonesia is expected to be the world's guide towards mutual recovery.

The G20 is a multilateral cooperation forum consisting of 19 major countries and the European Union (EU). The G20 represents more than 60% of the world's population, 75% of global trade and 80% of the world's GDP.

The G20 members consist of South Africa, the United States, Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, India, Indonesia, the United Kingdom, Italy, Germany, Canada, Mexico, South Korea, Russia, France, China, Turkey and the European Union.(*)


Editor: M. A. Wahad


Related Article

Latest News