17 Indonesian Political Parties Qualify for the 2024 Election

- 16 December 2022 18:47 WIB
KPU chairman Hasyim Asy'ari. (Photo/General Election Commission )
KPU chairman Hasyim Asy'ari. (Photo/General Election Commission )

JAKARTADAILY.ID – As many as 17 Indonesian national political parties and 6 local political parties in Aceh will take part in the 2024 election. The General Election Commission (KPU) stipulates this in the General Election Commission (KPU) Decree (SK) Number 518 of 2022.

"The political parties participating in the national election are set to be 17 political parties and local Acehnese political parties for the DPRA and DPRK elections there are 6 political parties," said KPU chairman Hasyim Asy'ari in a press conference after the Plenary Meeting of the National Recapitulation of Verification Results and Determination of Candidate Political Parties Participants in the 2024 Election at the KPU Building, Jakarta, Wednesday, December 14, 2022.

According to Hasyim, the determination of political parties participating in the 2024 election is in accordance with the mandate of Law (UU) 7 of 2017, namely the determination of political parties participating in elections is carried out 14 months before voting day.

Also Read: Indonesian General Election Commission: Five Political Parties Failed to Pass Stage II of Administrations

Hasyim explained that after the determination, the political parties participating in the 2024 Election, then took part in an Open Plenary Meeting for Drawing and Determining Serial Numbers of Political Parties for the 2024 Election which was held on the same day.

According to the Government Regulation in Lieu of Law (Perppu) Number 1 of 2022, political parties participating in the 2019 Election that meet the parliamentary threshold have the option to continue using serial numbers in 2019 Election. These political parties can also return their serial numbers to the KPU to take part again in the voting process.

"For political parties that have seats in the DPR RI, we have prepared a statement as to whether they will use serial numbers in the 2019 elections or will take part in the lottery. If you take part in the lottery, the serial number will be returned to the KPU and will take part in the lottery and we will determine it later," said Hasyim.

Also Read: Central Java Governor Ganjar Pranowo Ready to Run for Presidency in the 2024 Indonesian General Election

Meanwhile, political parties participating in the 2019 election that do not pass the parliamentary and new party thresholds are required to take part in the serial number drawing.

The 17 national parties that have been determined to participate in the election are the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI Perjuangan); Prosperous Justice Party (PKS); Indonesian Unity Party (Perindo); NasDem Party; Crescent Star Party (PBB); Nusantara Awakening Party (PKN); and the Indonesian Change Guard Party (Garuda).

Furthermore, the Democratic Party (PD); Indonesian People's Wave Party (Gelora); People's Conscience Party (Hanura); Great Indonesia Movement Party (Gerindra); National Awakening Party (PKB); Indonesian Solidarity Party (PSI); and the National Mandate Party (PAN).

Also Read: National Democratic Party Declares Anies Baswedan as their Presidential Candidate for 2024 General Election

The rest is the Golkar Party (Golkar); United Development Party (PPP); and the Labor Party.

Meanwhile, the 6 local Aceh parties are the Aceh Party, Aceh Prosperous Justice Party (PAS Aceh), Aceh Beusaboh Tha'at and Taqwa Generation Party, Darul Aceh Party, Nanggroe Aceh Party, and Sira Party (Acehnese People's Independent Solidity).


Editor: Suksmajati Kumara


Related Article

Latest News