Manchester City Clinches Seventh English Premier League Title

- 29 May 2023 11:20 WIB
Manchester City clinches seventh English Premier League title.
Manchester City clinches seventh English Premier League title.

JAKARTADAILY.ID – Manchester City secured their seventh English Premier League (EPL) title last weekend, as Arsenal's 0-1 defeat to Nottingham Forest confirmed their victory.

With only one game remaining in the 2022-2023 season, Manchester City's lead is insurmountable, with 89 points compared to Arsenal's 81 points.

Additionally, their star striker, Erling Haaland, sits at the top of the EPL's scoring charts this season, having netted an impressive 36 goals.

Also Read: Indonesian Army Helicopter Crashes During Training Exercise in Bandung Regency

Pep Guardiola's team's dominant performance has left Arsenal to wait another year for an opportunity to claim their fourth Premier League title.

This recent triumph marks Manchester City's fifth title in the past six years as the "Blue Manchester" and their seventh in the era of English Premier League ownership by Abu Dhabi.

While Manchester City has been the dominant force in the Premier League over the past decade, their local rivals, Manchester United, held that position for most of the previous two decades.

The Red Devils, as they are commonly called, boasts a record 13 Premier League titles, with their last one coming in 2013, during the final season under the leadership of legendary manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

Also Read: PLN Implements 'De-dieselization' Program to Accelerate Energy Transition in Indonesia

Since the inception of the English Premier League in 1992, widely regarded as the most popular and fiercely competitive football league in the world, only seven clubs have claimed the prestigious title throughout its 30-year history. Among them, Manchester clubs have reigned supreme, amassing a total of 20 EPL titles.

The following are the seven clubs that have won the English Premier League since 1992:
1. Manchester United - 13 titles: 1992-93, 1993-94, 1995-96, 1996-97, 1998-99, 1999-2000, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2010-11, and 2012-2013.
2. Manchester City - 7 titles: 2011-12, 2013-14, 2017-18, 2018-19, 2020-21, 2021-22, and 2022-2023.
3. Chelsea - 5 titles: 2004-05, 2005-06, 2009-10, 2014-15, and 2016-2017.
4. Arsenal - 3 titles: 1997-98, 2001-02, and 2003-2004.
5. Blackburn Rovers - 1 title: 1994-1995.
6. Leicester City - 1 title: 2015-2016.
7. Liverpool - 1 title: 2019-2020.

Get news on Indonesia today from on Google News

Editor: Suksmajati Kumara


Latest News

Most Popular