Trade Minister Zulkifli Hasan Represents Indonesia at APEC MRT Meeting in the United States

- 25 May 2023 19:55 WIB
Banners for the APEC 2023 Meeting held in Detroit, Michigan, United States.
Banners for the APEC 2023 Meeting held in Detroit, Michigan, United States.

JAKARTADAILY.ID – Trade Minister Zulkifli Hasan visited the United States to participate in the 29th Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Ministers Responsible for Trade meeting (APEC MRT).

The two-day meeting, scheduled for May 25-26, 2023, will take place in Detroit, Michigan, United States.

Minister Zulkifli Hasan expressed that Indonesia's presence at the APEC MRT meeting is a testament to its commitment to supporting the development of a robust trading system, particularly in the Asia Pacific region, and establishing mutually beneficial trade relations.

Also Read: Ministry of Trade and ITPO Collaborate to Boost Indonesian-Iranian Trade Relations

"Indonesia fully supports APEC's endeavors in fostering economic cooperation within the Asia Pacific region, which benefits all APEC member economies. We will actively participate in the APEC MRT meeting to demonstrate our support for the trade system established by APEC and contribute to the growth of the regional economy," stated Trade Minister Zulkifli Hasan in his official statement on Wednesday, May 24, 2023.

The APEC MRT meeting will cover various topics, including APEC's endorsement of the multilateral trade system, intra-regional capacity building, facilitation of trade in goods and services, inter-regional connectivity, digitization, trade sustainability, and inclusiveness, as well as innovation in the trade sector.

In addition to participating in the MRT meeting, Trade Minister Zulkifli Hasan has scheduled bilateral meetings with several APEC member economies. Discussions during these meetings will revolve around enhancing trade relations and implementing trade cooperation initiatives.

Also Read: Erick Thohir Assures Ministry of SOEs Will Continue Consolidation Process in Restructuring of BUMN Karya

APEC serves as a cooperation platform for 21 economies spanning the Pacific Ocean region. The forum's primary activities involve promoting trade cooperation, investment, and other economic collaboration to stimulate growth and prosperity across the Asia Pacific region.

The APEC member economies encompass the United States, Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, the Philippines, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Canada, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Papua New Guinea, China, Russia, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam. APEC's approach is non-political, with all decisions made based on consensus among its members and remaining non-binding.

Get news on Indonesia today from on Google News

Editor: Suksmajati Kumara


Latest News